I P.A.W.S. for Word Problems

A few months ago I attended a workshop where a math teacher shared a strategy that she uses with her students to help them solve word problems.

The strategy involves a paw outline using the title “I P.A.W.S. for Word Problems.” This is what the acronym P.A.W.S. stands for:

Problem Key Words
Analyze the Steps
Work it Out
Solve! Does it make sense?

Then on the actual paw part of the outline, the students would work out their problems. This area is called the “Work Pad.”

This was such a creative idea that I decided to create a document for it.

Here are the files for you to download:
I P.A.W.S. for Word Problems (Color)
I P.A.W.S. for Word Problems (Grayscale)

Leave a Reply

